Roanna Martin

"make [food] simple and let things taste of what they are." {Curnonsky}

4-H Camp

Leave a comment

This week, my dietetic internship has me located in a setting that I’m quite fond of: camp.

Monongalia County 4-H camp, to be exact.

Today was spent welcoming children to camp, and grocery shopping for the “Fun with Food” cooking class that Kaitlin and I will be teaching. I’m looking forward to kicking it off tomorrrow! The theme of camp this year is “Our Camp in the Hills”, so we have based our curriculum around a piece of traditional Appalachian cookware: the cast iron skillet. Stay tuned in to my blog this week to find out some fun recipes and hear about the kids experience in learning some fun and simple stovetop cookery.

I wanted to share with you a pledge that the 4-Hers say. I learned this as a child when I was involved in 4-H projects in PA, although I never attended a 4-H camp. Think about the potential implications of the following statements.

The 4-H Pledge

I pledge my head to clearer thinking,
My heart to greater loyalty,
My hands to larger service,
and my health to better living,
for my club, my community, my country, and my world.

Author: roannamartinwvudietetics12

A dietetic intern with a love of learning, an enjoyment of food, and a passion for people.

Leave a Reply

